Williams to stay on as PGPS superintendent for upcoming school year

By: Meredith Baker | Email: Click Here
Posted: July 5, 2018 | 3:25 p.m. 

Renee Williams

PRINCE GEORGE – The Prince George County School Board has made a number of new appointments for the upcoming school year and most notably, school leaders have appointed superintendent Renee Williams to continue leading the division.

Board Member Kevin Foster said he is excited that Williams has decided to stay on.

“Thank you for the sacrifices,” Foster told Williams, “because I’m going to tell you, it all rolls uphill when you’re the superintendent.”.

The board appointed new principals for three of the division’s schools. Chris Romig and Sharon Kushma, the principals of North Elementary and William A. Walton Elementary, are both retiring. The school board has named Chrystal Barnwell, who has served as an assistant principal at J. E. J. Moore Middle School, as the principal of Walton Elementary. Dr. Theresa Marshall will be the principal of North Elementary. 

Robin Germanos, who is currently the principal of L. L. Beazley Elementary, will now serve as the director of elementary education for the division, replacing James Scruggs, who is retiring. Current Dinwiddie Middle School Principal Jason Chandler will now take over as principal of Beazley Elementary.

The school board has also appointed some new assistant principals. Priscilla Hicks will be moving from Beazley to J. E. J. Moore Middle School, and Chris Sumner will be moving from N. B. Clements Jr. High to Beazley. Jennifer Rollings will serve as an assistant principal at Harrison Elementary, and Marlena Smith will hold that position at South Elementary. 

Copyright 2018 by Womack Publishing
Send Us Your News Tips or Report an Error

Leave a Reply